ThemeGrade

« »

Solostream Review

Theme Designer

Editor Review

Theme Functionality
Theme Graphics
Theme Pricing
Theme Support

Top 10 Awards

No Award
What say you?
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
(7 recommend ; 3 not recommend )

Solostream Overview

Solostream is one of the most known providers of WordPress themes. They started business several years ago and provide very reliable and multi purpose themes. The CEO Mike Durkin is calling himself a technology junkie and years before solostream he already was in the internet consulting business involved.

This review will give you some insight about the themes this company offers and why you should be a customer of them and if it fits to your needs.


Theme Functionality


Theme Functionality is an important factor when it comes to WordPress themes and Solostream knows that. That’s why they use a custom theme setting page where you can easily change everything to your needs within minutes. Coming with a wide range of features and the possibilty to change colors and show and hide options they give you a broad array of things you can do with your themes.


Theme Graphics

Solostream goes a very clean approach when it comes to theme design which is important if you are running a business since clean design is known to convert better and users will enjoy faster loading times and find easier the things they are looking for.


Theme Pricing

They are providing two different plans one is quarterly and one annualy. The Annual is $129 and the quarterly $99 so it’s a smart move to opt in for the more expensive annual one since the value of it is much bigger.

Theme Support

Solostream got a forum where all members have access to and can ask questions which is a huge plus. So even the community itself can help each other although most of the time an employee will chime in and help you with your questions.

Summary

Overall Solostream is providing a very solid product that if you like their themes can be the perfect fit for you. Although some people might find other clubs more appealing this theme club caters to a broad target group and you should check out their themes to get a better feel for what they are offering.


Theme License

GPL License All Themes


ThemeGrade Visitors Rating of Solostream

Solostream Review, 7.4 out of 10 based on 16 ratings

11 Responses

  1. Wayne says:
    August 14, 2017 at 8:48 am (IP: 172.68.186.x)

    Does anyone know what happened to the bizzgang and Solostream websites? They both no longer seem to exist

  2. villainess says:
    May 23, 2017 at 2:01 pm (IP: 172.68.65.x)

    Solostream was awesome for many years. Eventually, I purchased the lifetime membership and was very pleased. Most of my websites use their themes. The support was great, and they had a forum for theme-specific questions and answers with an extensive knowledge base built up over the years. Answers were easy to find for each theme. But now, it looks like they were bought out by Bizzgang. Forget support now, and all the forum information is gone. They don’t respond to the forum or support tickets. IMPORTANT: Currently, not all their themes are Solostream themes.The Solostream themes have wonderful theme options for customizing themes and had very good tutorials specific to each theme. Some of the new themes now were created by Bizzgang and have nothing. I don’t trust those at all. These people don’t seem reliable. Buyer beware; this is not the true Solostream anymore.

  3. EB says:
    May 15, 2017 at 9:31 pm (IP: 162.158.78.x)
    Theme Functionality
    Theme Graphics
    Theme Pricing
    Theme Support

    Solostream used to have great support and great themes.

    Both are not aging gracefully. Spend 2, very slow response weeks trying to get a slider to work only to be told “it was a server issue.”

    The issue was that the theme’s code was so outdated that it didn’t work with php7.0. The current solution is to set it to php 5.6

  4. Alan Sills says:
    April 25, 2017 at 10:24 am (IP: 108.162.246.x)
    Theme Functionality
    Theme Graphics
    Theme Pricing
    Theme Support

    Poor – Poor – and WORSE. They LIE – Solostream has TRULY gone DOWNHILL. No more American support – all in India in BROKEN ENGLISH – and NOT TIMELY. They do NOT stand behind their themes, they PROMISED me a refund and then RENEGED. AVOID this company at all costs. I have moved on to another wp theme company – one that is reputable AND provides support.

    • Wayne says:
      August 14, 2017 at 9:15 am (IP: 172.68.186.x)

      Hi Allan,

      I also need to move to another theme since it seems that Solostream and Bizzgang no longer exist.

      Can you perhaps recommend another theme?

      Thanks

    • Gutted says:
      March 7, 2017 at 5:22 pm (IP: 108.162.249.x)

      I use a number of Solostream Themes that I have updated over the years for the reason that they worked and I was comfortable using them with my limited knowledge.

      Last month I had a problem with my main website – the one I earn my living from – and the BizzGang techs went in changed some files, crashed the website and then wandered off, not even telling me what they had done.

      I had been in the middle of buying their “all themes” package but it had crashed halfway through the purchasing process so I thought – that’s OK, I dodged a bullet there.

      No such luck. The purchase miraculously went through and I now own all their themes. I then even more foolishly went ahead with my plan to migrate another website from an out-of-date Theme by another supplier to a similar Solostream product.

      I had a problem with error messages showing up but before they could answer my request for help I discovered I just needed to switch off the “debug message” display. However there was another problem with sidebars so I asked for their help.

      What I got back was an offer to migrate the website for $25 an hour. That’s probably cheap – but it’s not a free service that they should provide to fix their products. In any case, I am not going to let these BizzGang “help desk” bozos anywhere near my sites.

      I suggest to the editors of this website that they review Solostream’s rating based on the customer feedback from the last year rather than the 10 previous years where their service was fantastic.

  5. Michael Maxson says:
    Theme Functionality
    Theme Graphics
    Theme Pricing
    Theme Support

    The support is basically non-existent now. They used to use Zendesk for support. Their were thousands of questions and answers. Now they use Chitty-Chitty Bang-Bang or some such nonsense for support. About 20 Q&A’s if that.

    Basically useless.

  6. Unhappy Solostream says:

    Solostream support is a mess their website and forums do not work correctly, tickets are never answered and many support threads are deleted.

    It’s a pity because they do make attractive themes.

  7. Robert says:
    Theme Functionality
    Theme Graphics
    Theme Pricing
    Theme Support

    I have had contrasting experience with Solostream, but overall it still rate them high

  8. Michael Maxson says:
    Theme Functionality
    Theme Graphics
    Theme Pricing
    Theme Support

    Be wary when purchasing from SoloStream. I subscribed to the Gold membership for two years, and then decided I could not afford the price. I recently found a bug in their WP-Clear theme which makes the

    navigation menu on mobile devices in Google Chrome disappear. Sadly I have used the theme on about a dozen sites

    I contacted technical support as Solostream’s support policy states that, and I quote, ” Fixing of bugs that will be made available to all respective theme customers.” Note the word “Customers” not members.
    I then received the following reply from an associate at Solostream

    Hello Mike,
    I have a permission to send you the theme update. Should I send it to your current SoloStream email?

    This is all well and good, however now I can’t login to the support forum to answer yes, as they claim my subscription expired.

    I then tried to contact them via their contact form at the Solostream website, and the page asks for a anti-spam code to reply….guess what the code does not generate. I hope this is not one of Solostream’s Premium Themes that they built their site with.

Leave a Reply
Theme Functionality
Theme Graphics
Theme Pricing
Theme Support

« »